Superhero movies Part 1— The Avengers!

Country: USA

Release date: 2012

Actors: Chris EvansRobert Downey JrMarl RuffaloChris HemsworthScarlett Johnsson,  Jeremy RennerTom Hiddleston

Director: Joss Whedon

I finally got to see The Avengers. We were actually going to go see this for the geek’s birthday, but life got in the way. Anyways, I was a little worried because this movie has been hyped over the years in easter eggs at the end of all the Marvel movies.

However, it’s Joss Whedon. Yes, I’m a Browncoat. I was just hoping it wouldn’t bore me to tears.  Verdict: It didn’t.  I was hesitant that they replaced Ed Norton with Mark Ruffalo, but adding a little more the Bruce Banner/Hulk character really helped the movie.  I also loved all the interplay between all the super heros. I also thought Tom Hiddleston’s Loki was much better in this movie than he was in “Thor.”

My only complaint was adding Black Widow and Hawkeye. I  never read the comic books, but both characters were so minor that I really didn’t see the point of them being in the film. Perhaps, they’ll have bigger roles in the sequel.

I would also love to have a new Hulk movie if Mark Ruffalo would agree to it. I loved the Ed Norton version as well, but Ruffalo gave the character a little more humor.

This was a fun summer movie full of action and a lot of jokes for the fans of the other movies.  See if before it leaves the theaters.

Grade: A

4 thoughts on “Superhero movies Part 1— The Avengers!

  1. You know what? I kind of agree with you on the Black Widow/Hawkeye addition to the film. I kind of felt the same – it might have been different if they had each had an origin film prior to the release of The Avengers, but I really feel like they didn’t lend much to it. I think I heard that Black Widow will now be getting an origin film, so maybe I’ll feel different about her after (if) it comes out.

    I thought The Avengers was awesome. I definitely agree with your A rating. Loki was awesome this time around and my husband was nervous about Mark Ruffalo playing The Hulk too but has since admitted that he’s his favourite Hulk so far. I’m excited for the DVD release so I can watch it again!

    • Me neither! I really liked Mark Ruffalo, and of course Mike was nervous on how they would treat the film but I loved it. That’s saying something because normally I’m not that big into popcorn movies. If Black Widow is getting her own origin movie, we’ll see how it is. I think Whedon thought they needed a woman in with all the boys.

Leave a Reply

